Q: NOUREEN A., Easton, PA
What kind of gelatin do you use in Pop-Tarts?
A: In the United States, the gelatin in Frosted Pop-Tarts® is derived from beef, and is used to help the texture of the product. Plain (unfrosted) Pop-Tarts® do not contain gelatin.
Gelatin derived from pork is found in the following in the U.S.:
Gelatin derived from beef is found in the following in the U.S.:
Some of our foods in the U.S. contain gelatin that is derived from either beef or pork; sourcing is based on availability in the marketplace. These include:
Please note that none of our equipment that comes in contact with the gelatin in Frosted Pop-Tarts® is used in the production of the other pastries. As a result, Plain (unfrosted) Pop-Tarts® do not contain gelatin. The pre-gelatinized wheat starch contained in some of our toaster pastries is derived from wheat and does not contain any gelatin.
This information applies to products sold in the United States. Products sold in other countries may have different ingredients and nutrition information.